Posted June 7, 2016 by Ryan Villanueva in Music

FG MUSIC: Sum 41 Returns With A Brand New Record!

Mark your calendars this 2016 as fan-favorite, punk-rockers SUM 41 makes their triumphant return to the music scene with a brand new album! The album is titled 13 voices and is scheduled for release on October 7, 2016 via Hopeless Records.
13 Voices is a 10-track album which is a follow-up to the band’s 2011 release, Screaming Bloody Murder that features the Grammy Nominated song “Blood in my Eyes.”


SUM 41’s frontman, Deryck Whibley has this to say about 13 Voices: “I am really excited to be releasing an album after everything I’ve been through recently. This new music represents the journey I’ve been on throughout the process of making this record. I had to fall in order to rise, and nothing feels better than to have something you love that you had to really fight for. I can honestly say that 13 Voices saved my life and I cannot wait to share it with all of you.”

13 Voices was written during Deryck’s 4 month stay at the hospital, he recalls, “I had to learn how to do everything again-my motor skills, learning how to play guitar again… I couldn’t even walk at the time. It was really difficult, but at the same time if I didn’t have a record to make, I don’t think I would have recovered as quickly. Writing music gave me a purpose. I had to get better.”

As Deryck was getting better, he was able to write songs and 13 Voices soon took form. The album was recorded, produced and engineered by Deryck Whibley at his Los Angeles home. Prior to the release of 13 Voices, SUM 41 will be touring across the US as part of the 2016 Warped Tour.


‘13 Voices’ Track Listing
1. A Murder of Crows (You’re All Dead To Me)
2. Goddamn I’m Dead Again
3. Fake My Own Death
4. Breaking The Chain
5. There Will Be Blood
6. 13 Voices
7. War
8. God Save Us All (Death to POP)
9. The Fall And The Rise
10. Twisted By Design

SUM 41 consists of five members including Whibley, lead guitarist/backing vocalist Dave “Brownsound” Baksh, co-lead guitarist/backing vocalist Tom Thacker, bassist/backing vocalist Cone McCaslin and drummer Frank Zummo.

Ryan Villanueva

Your resident all around Flipgeek, from comics,movies,games,toys,music and even sports. A big Spider-man fan raised in the ways of the Jedi,who listens to punk rock and a sucker for chick flicks.