Posted February 2, 2012 by Timzster in Comics

DC officially announces “Before Watchmen”

In a move that is undoubtedly both controversial and exciting, DC Entertainment has officially announced  a new prequel series to Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons‘ seminal comic book series work “WATCHMEN“. Unified under the banner entitled “BEFORE WATCHMEN“, seven prequel miniseries will be released that will tell tales that exist within the Watchmen universe, and will feature the likes of J. Michael Straczynski, Andy Kubert, Brian Azzarello, and Darwyn Cooke.

The titles to be released are as follows:

RORSCHACH (4 issues) – Writer: Brian Azzarello. Artist: Lee Bermejo

MINUTEMEN (6 issues) – Writer/Artist: Darwyn Cooke

COMEDIAN (6 issues) – Writer: Brian Azzarello. Artist: J.G. Jones

DR. MANHATTAN (4 issues) – Writer: J. Michael Straczynski. Artist: Adam Hughes

NITE OWL (4 issues) – Writer: J. Michael Straczynski. Artists: Andy and Joe Kubert

OZYMANDIAS (6 issues) – Writer: Len Wein. Artist: Jae Lee

SILK SPECTRE (4 issues) – Writer: Darwyn Cooke. Artist: Amanda Conner

There will also be a back up story in the form of CURSE OF THE CRIMSON CORSAIR, which runs for two-pages at the end of every issue released. After all is said and done, a single issue called BEFORE WATCHMEN: EPILOGUE will be released, and will also feature a Crimson Corsair back up. For more info and details on this development, visit the source post at DC’s official blog The Source and Bleeding Cool!

*Originally posted by Timzster in The Crusader’s Realm