Posted February 15, 2016 by Ryan Villanueva in Music

FG MUSIC: SOMOS premieres new song ‘Reminded/Weighed Down’

Boston band Somos recently released a new song called, Reminded/Weighed Down. It’s a track from their upcoming album - First Day Back , the album will be released officially this week on February 19, 2016 under Hopeless Records. Click here to listen.


First Day Back is available for pre-order on iTunes. Fans who pre-ordered digitally will receive Alright, I’ll Wait track as an instant grat download.

Somos had already released official music videos for Thorn In The Side and Alright, I’ll Wait.

First Day Back Track Listing:

First Day Back

1. Slow Walk to the Graveyard Shift
2. Violent Decline
3. Thorn in the Side
4. Problem Child
5. Reminded/Weighed Down
6. Days Here are Long
7. Room Full Of People
8. You Won’t Stay
9. Alright, I’ll Wait
10. Bitter Medicine
11. Lifted from the Current

Reflecting on the new release, vocalist and bassist Michael Fiorentino explains: “We are very proud of ‘First Day Back’. Musically, I think it represents a step forward and highlights a number of new influences and styles. In terms of lyrics, I attempted to incorporate themes of alienation and struggle but also resistance and resilience. We live in trying times, but it’s important to keep in mind that the immense challenges we face as a society exist alongside green shoots of hope. This record is dedicated to all revolutionaries and freedom fighters the world over.”

Formed in 2012 in Boston, MA, Somos consists of Michael Fiorentino (vocals/bass), Phil Haggerty (guitar), Justin Hahn (guitar), and Evan Deges (drums). Since the release of their debut album Temple of Plenty in 2014, the east coast band has been featured with Pitchfork, Noisey, The Boston Globe, and more.

Ryan Villanueva

Your resident all around Flipgeek, from comics,movies,games,toys,music and even sports. A big Spider-man fan raised in the ways of the Jedi,who listens to punk rock and a sucker for chick flicks.